Support Home/Providing Services/Tips & Best Practices

How does a freelancer refund a client?

e_jond
posted this on May 05, 2009 05:05 PM

Refund for funds still held in escrow

If there are still funds in escrow, log in to your account and follow the steps below:

  1. Click on the Home icon from the top navigation bar.
  2. On the right side of the appropriate job, click the Select Action > Terms link. (Alternatively, you may also click the job name and from the top Workroom menu, click the Terms link.)
  3. Scroll down the page and click the Edit link next to the existing milestone(s).
  4. Fill in the new details and submit them to your client.
  5. If the job is to be canceled, set the total to $0.

Once the client accepts the changes to the terms, the refund will be automatically processed back the client's original funding source.

Refund for released escrow funds or standard jobs

To properly fulfill your request, we ask that you please fill out a ‘Refund, Cancel or Dispute’ form and note the amount of refund owed to your client. This form provides Elance will all the details necessary to process your request.

You may submit a ‘Refund, Cancel or Dispute’ form by logging into your account and following these steps:

  1. Click on the Home icon from the top navigation bar.
  2. Underneath the job name you wish to cancel, click the Action drop down and select Refund, Cancel or Dispute link.
  3. Click the File a Request button.
  4. Select the option Request Refund and enter all relevant refund information on the form.

Once you submit this form a refund request will be sent to Elance to process.

NOTE: Based upon the availability of funds in the freelancer's account, the refund will be processed shortly.

 

 
Topic is closed for comments